Mostafa Asal
Mostafa Asal

Draw Changes Following Asal’s Withdrawal

Following yesterday’s news that Mostafa Asal would not be allowed to feature at this year’s British Open, there has been plenty of changes to the men’s draw.

The Platinum level tournament will take places at the Edgbaston Priory Club and The Rep in Birmingham from April 9-16.

Peru’s Diego Elias, who has the chance of becoming World No.1 once again at the end of this week’s Optasia Championships, will now be the top seed for the British Open. Egypt’s Ali Farag moves to the No.2 seed, with Paul Coll and Mohamed ElShorbagy making up the rest of the top four.

France’s Victor Crouin takes the open spot in the top eight seeds, with Egypt’s Karim Abdel Gawad moving into the 9/16 seeding bracket, and receiving a bye through to the second round of the competition.

India’s Ramit Tandon takes gawad’s place in the 17/32 bracket, and will now play Mexico’s Cesar Salazar. USA’s Timothy Brownell comes into the draw, replacing Tandon, and he will take on France’s Sebastien Bonmalais on the opening day.

Tickets for the British Open are on sale and available for purchase here.

Action from Birmingham Rep will be broadcast live on SQUASHTV, while the semi-finals and finals will also be shown live by PSA’s broadcast partners. Streaming details for matches held at Edgbaston Priory Club will be announced in due course.

Keep up with all the action from this year’s British Open via the official tournament website and by following the event on Twitter.

Updated Men’s Draw : British Open 2023

[2] Ali Farag (EGY)  Bye
[17/32] Omar Mosaad (EGY) v arim El Hammamy (EGY)
[17/32] Shahjahan Khan (USA) v Tsz Kwan Lau (HKG)
[17/32] Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY) v Faraz Khan (USA)

[17/32] Patrick Rooney (ENG) v Todd Harrity (USA)
[17/32] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) v Henry Leung (HKG)
[17/32] Ramit Tandon (IND) v Cesar Salazar (MEX)
[6] Tarek Momen (EGY)  Bye

[7] Mazen Hesham (EGY) Bye
[17/32] Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA) v Timothy Brownell (USA)
[17/32] Baptiste Masotti (FRA) v James Willstrop (ENG)
[9/16] Gregoire Marche (FRA)  Bye

[9/16] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY)  Bye
[9/16] Miguel Rodriguez (COL)  Bye
[17/32] Leonel Cardenas (MEX) v Balazs Farkas (HUN)
[4] Mohamed ElShorbagy (ENG)  Bye

[3] Paul Coll (NZL)   Bye
[17/32] Eain Yow Ng (MAS) v [WC] Curtis Malik (ENG)
[17/32] Adrian Waller (ENG) v Yahya Elnawasany (EGY)
[9/16] Saurav Ghosal (IND)  Bye

[9/16] Youssef Soliman (EGY)   Bye
[17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO) v George Parker (ENG)
[17/32] Dimitri Steinmann (SUI) v Lucas Serme (FRA)
[5] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY)  Bye

[8] Victor Crouin (FRA)  Bye
[17/32] Raphael Kandra (GER) v [WC] Sam Todd (ENG)
[9/16] Nicolas Mueller (SUI)  Bye
[9/16] Youssef Ibrahim (EGY)   Bye

[17/32] Aly Abou Eleinen (EGY) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
[17/32] Auguste Dussourd (FRA) v Nick Wall (ENG)
[9/16] Joel Makin (WAL)  Bye
[1] Diego Elias (PER)   Bye